The Science Department at SFX

“Science education is one of the keys to social mobility. Science qualifications open the doors to many rewarding and interesting careers, and scientific literacy is critically important to being an informed citizen. Science is the most powerful method humans have for understanding the world, and science teachers in secondary schools lay the foundations of that understanding.”

– Sir John Holman, University of York

The Science department at SFX strive to ensure that all students in our learning environments can become well rounded individuals, able to discuss the issues in a scientific context facing the world, on a local, national and global scale.

The Science department currently offers the following qualifications:



For more information on qualifications, please see subject specific pages or click on the specification links above.

Department Staff

Click on a teacher’s name to send an e-mail to them.

Mr Jay Lal – Head of Chemistry
Mr Simon Irwin – Head of Biology
Mr Simon Collins – KS3 Co-ordinator
Mr Alan Daniels – Teacher i/c Careers and IAG / Teacher of Chemistry
Dr Rebecca Carvell – Teacher of Chemistry
Mr Elliot Robertson – Teacher of Biology
Ms Kate McCullough – Teacher of Biology / BTEC
Mr Jim McMillan – Teacher of Physics
Mr Richard Williams – Teacher of Physics
Ms L Walters – Science Technician
Ms L Seasman – Science Technician